driver-accused-of-drunk-driving.jpg

 

Three Lifetime Drunk Driving Charged as a Felony in Michigan!

Since the passage of Heidi’s Law in Michigan in 2007, a person is subject to felony prosecution for three (3) or more lifetime convictions for any combination of:

  • OWI/operating while intoxicated-alcohol with a BAC of .08 or greater,
  • OUID/operating under the influence of drugs/prescription medications,
  • OWPD/operating with the presence of Schedule 1 controlled substance,
  • Super drunk driving/operating with a high BAC of .17 or greater,
  • OWVI/operating while impaired driving,
  • Zero Tolerance/under 21 with any BAC (0nly 1 such conviction may be counted towards a felony).

Driving under the influence convictions which occur in states outside of Michigan are also counted.   This law has been on the books for several years and all states have adopted this law. However, prior to the passage of this Heidi’s Law, a person could only be charged with felony drunk driving if the prior convictions occurred within 10 years of the new arrest.  This blog will explore legal defense strategies, possible penalties and other ramifications associated with a felony DUI offense. For additional information: What you need to know now if you are charged with drunk driving anywhere in Macomb County.

It is a felony if you get convicted for a third drinking and driving offense in Michigan.  A person convicted of a felony will lose coveted rights such as the right to possess a firearm. There is a social stigma for individuals convicted of a felony and other consequences associated with a felony record.  Hiring a local lawyer with years of experience  handling felony matters if you find yourself facing a DRUNK DRIVING THIRD or any other felony charge. Felony lawyers will look at every possible angle to get the charge dismissed or reduced to lower offense.  Felony lawyers also know what to expect from the local judges and prosecutors in the jurisdiction where they practice.  For example, we know from experience that there is the possibility of reducing a felony charge in Macomb County (including felony drunk driving) to a misdemeanor under certain circumstances and with the Macomb County Prosecutor’s approval.

Penalties for Felony Drunk Driving Conviction

The list of possible penalties for a third driving and driving conviction in Michigan are as follows:

  • Fines: $500.00 to $5,000.00 fine, plus costs.
  • Jail/Community Service: Imprisonment for 1 to 5 years, or, probation with imprisonment in the county jail for not less than 30 days or more than 1 year and community service for not less than 60 days or more than 180 days. Not less than 48 hours of this imprisonment shall be served consecutively.
  • License Sanctions: License revoked minimum of 1 year for any felony driving offense. A second revocation is for 5 years. After minimum period of revocation, a person must appear before the Driver License Appeal Division satisfy several requirements before a license will be granted.
  • Other: Destruction of License, Plate confiscation, Vehicle immobilization from 1 to 3 years, Possible vehicle forfeiture .
  • Points: 6

Proving Drunk Driving: Actual intoxication is irrelevant when test results are .08% or greater

The elements of a drunk driving which the prosecutor must prove are:

Intoxication or Impairment by alcohol, drugs or marijuana: In Michigan “Operating While Intoxicated” (OWI) means operating a motor vehicle while under the influence of alcohol and/or drugs (OUID) to a degree that renders one unable to safely drive a vehicle. In Michigan, OWI convictions can be obtained regardless of actual intoxication if a person has a BAC of .08% or greater or tests positive for the presence of certain Schedule 1 drugs. Pursuant to MCL 257.625, “operating while intoxicated” means any of the following:

(a) The person is under the influence of alcoholic liquor, a controlled substance, or other intoxicating substance or a combination of alcoholic liquor, a controlled substance, or other intoxicating substance.

(b) The person has an alcohol content of 0.08 grams or more per 100 milliliters of blood, per 210 liters of breath, or per 67 milliliters of urine, or, beginning October 1, 2018, the person has an alcohol content of 0.10 grams or more per 100 milliliters of blood, per 210 liters of breath, or per 67 milliliters of urine.

(c) The person has an alcohol content of 0.17 grams or more per 100 milliliters of blood, per 210 liters of breath, or per 67 milliliters of urine.

Proof of operation of vehicle:  The police do not have to witness the offender actually driving or operating the vehicle. In the cases researched, you can be charged and convicted with OWI if the police had probable cause to believe the accused was operating the vehicle at some point in time. In other words, evidence of recent operation will suffice in cases where there is an accident or when a vehicle in a ditch or off the road).

Legal traffic stop:  A traffic stop may be based upon any violation of any Michigan traffic laws. Drivers are often stopped for straddling lane markers, weaving between lanes, driving at excessive or very slow speeds, braking erratically, obstructed vision, defective equipment and coming in close contact with objects or other vehicles. The police may also approach a person that is found fixing a flat tire on the shoulder of a road although nothing illegal is occurring! Cellular phone calls to the police may also be used to give law enforcement officers with notice of a drunk driver’s whereabouts. The caller may be eventually be called as a witness.

Planning a defense strategy for felony drinking and driving

Our goals  in every criminal case, including drunk driving, are always the same: avoiding of a conviction and avoiding jail!  While avoiding a conviction or jail 100% of the time is not realistic even for experienced criminal defense lawyers, steps can be taken to get a case under control, reduce charges and obtain the lowest possible sentence.

Police Report: The police report can be obtained soon after we are retained for a criminal matter. By law, the prosecutor is required to provide full disclosure (known as discovery) of the report, videos and test results (see blog regarding alcohol/drug testing). Refuting the accuracy of tests, intoxication and grounds for the traffic stop are ways in which a drunk driving charge may be challenged. An aggressive drunk driving defense may also include:

  • Interviewing any possible witnesses (passengers, last persons who could testify as to client’s sobriety)
  • Obtaining an expert witness to challenge blood or alcohol test results (especially in close cases or cases involving prescription meds or THC levels)
  • Recreating the scene of the traffic stop

Client Background: Obtaining a complete personal history of our client is essential in the preparation of a sound legal defense. In our experience, the positive background of a person can make a vast impression on the prosecutor, the probation department and the assigned judge during various phases of a criminal case.

  • Education, degrees, special skills
  • Employment, years at employment, position, awards
  • Family situation, child support obligations
  • Military duty, tours of service, decorations, honorable discharge
  • Charitable service, community involvement
  • Other awards, achievements, recognition
  • Past and present physical health, mental health, psychological attention, medications
  • Past and present substance abuse/alcohol treatment, in-patient care, attendance of AA, relapse prevention programs

Criminal History: In addition to the personal history, the lifetime criminal conviction history also plays a vital role in the criminal process of a drunk driving offense.  We can usually minimize the value of extremely old criminal offenses.

  • Misdemeanors (including traffic related misdemeanors)
  • Felonies
  • Juvenile record
  • Drinking and drug convictions (disorderly conduct, domestic violence, MIP, possession of marijuana, etc)

Habitual Felony Offenders: For felony convictions, Michigan judges are required to follow the Michigan Sentencing Guidelines. The guidelines factor in prior convictions and felonies for purpose of scoring a sentence range. Prior felonies will be used to label an offender as a habitual offender. A person with 1 prior felony is considered a “habitual offender 1” or Hab-1st. Habitual offender status can go as high as Hab-4.  The maximum penalty for a person with Hab-4th  status (meaning the person has 3 prior felonies not counting the charged felony) is up to life in prison.

Other Relevant Factors:  The following factors may influence the outcome or sentence of a felony drunk driving:

  • Is the person charged with  a *true 3rd DUI offense (meaning the offender has only 2 prior DUI lifetime convictions)?
  • Are any of the prior drinking & driving offenses more than 10 years old?
  • Does the offender have a felony record?
  • Does the pending offense involve an injury accident?
  • Is the blood alcohol content (BAC) in a close range to .08% or is it extremely high (over .17%)?
  • Has the offender engaged a substance abuse counselor and/or AA?
  • Is the offender on probation for any other criminal matter?

*In Macomb County, our firm has advocated plea bargains to a misdemeanor if the offender is charged as a true third drunk driving offender. We have achieved this result in numerous cases; including offenders with more than two (2) prior lifetime DUI offenses. Public policy, accidents involving injuries and directives by the County Prosecuting Attorney may have an impact on plea bargaining drunk driving cases.

Possible outcomes of a drunk driving felony

Everyone likes to believe that they will win their drunk driving case at trial. This is not realistic since the vast majority of drunk driving offenses (as well as all other criminal offenses) in Michigan are resolved based upon a plea bargain.  In fact, recent statistics indicate that over 90% of all criminal cases are resolved by a plea bargain and not by trial.

Rarely is a client willing to roll the dice at trial when we can secure a deal to have a drunk driving felony reduced to a misdemeanor with a dismissal of the felony charge. However, our attorneys will examine a case from every angle to determine the best course of action which may include:

  • Scheduling the case for a jury trial
  • Fling and arguing motions to dismiss because of an illegal traffic stop
  • Filing and arguing improper testing procedures or equipment failures
  • Plea bargaining to a misdemeanor (achieved by our firm in numerous drunk driving cases)
  • Negotiating the minimum sentence (30 days with community service) to avoid prison
  • Sobriety Court

Michigan State Police Annual Drunk Driving Audit

The Michigan State Police maintains an annual audit of drunk driving cases based upon data from the courts and police in Michigan which provides detailed information concerning traffic fatalities and injuries, as well as drunk driving arrest activities in the state. The most recent Michigan Drunk Driving Audit covers 2022 which was completed in July, 2023. Therefore, don’t expect the 2023 audit until around July, 2024. Here are some of the details obtained from the 2022 Annual Drunk Driving Audit:

Macomb County, Number of breath and/or blood tests for alcohol: 1,890

Oakland County, Number of breath and/or blood tests for alcohol: 3,619

Wayne County, Number of breath and/or blood tests for alcohol: 3,735

St. Clair County, Number of breath and/or blood tests for alcohol: 458

Washtenaw County, Number of breath and/or blood tests for alcohol: 840

There are thousands of drunk driving arrests in the Metro Detroit and surrounding regions as illustrated by the above information. Some of these individuals may be facing any one of the following drinking and driving offenses:

Continue reading ›

shoplifter

In a recent Wall Street Journal Article Judge Thomas Boyd, who handles misdemeanor cases in Ingham County, Michigan, said

“he sometimes finds himself arguing with defendants who seem too eager to admit wrongdoing without consulting a lawyer.” 

The crime of shoplifting is covered under the umbrella of the Michigan Retail Fraud statutes. Retail fraud is a serious crime. A person convicted of retail fraud is labeled as a “dishonest” person or a “thief”. We believe that these characterizations are unjust and can unfairly damage a person’s reputation, lead to deportation and can. jeopardize employment and/or education  opportunities . Being charged with a any crime can be a life changing event. Don’t take the path of pleading guilty without the benefit of a lawyer. A skilled local criminal defense lawyer will get your life back on the right track, restore your reputation and keep your record clean in the process.

Cases dismissed even if you did the crime!

Being guilty does not mean that you will be found guilty. The court system can be forgiving, especially if you have are a first offender.  In this publication, we discuss how a retail fraud offense can be dismissed for eligible offenders in every Macomb County District Court:

In addition, we warn you that an opportunity to get a dismissal can be lost by saying the wrong thing on your court date to the prosecutor or to the judge. You also need to understand that the employees of the court are forbidden by law to give you legal advice! Getting a local criminal defense lawyer is always your best course of action to GET YOU OUT OF THE COURT SYSTEM.  If you are charged with retail fraud, there are many ways that an experienced Macomb County criminal defense attorney can negotiate to get you out of the court system by accomplishing these goals:

  • Avoid a conviction.
  • Avoid deportation.
  • Avoid jail.
  • Avoid a criminal record.

Retail Fraud: Major Shopping Corridors

Retail fraud cases are on the rise and are always one of the most frequently charged misdemeanor offenses and felony offenses in the Macomb County District Courts where we practice extensively.  While every court in Macomb and Oakland County sees its fair share of shoplifting cases, the courts which are located in regions with shopping malls (Troy, Roseville, Sterling Heights), major retailers (Target, Kohl’s, Walmart, Home Depot, Meijer) and major shopping corridors have the greatest number of retail fraud cases on their dockets for obvious reasons. While each offender has a different reason for committing the offense of retail fraud, some of the common variables that we are seeing in Macomb County misdemeanor retail fraud cases (amount involved is under $1,000) are as follows:

  • Isolated Incident: Our typical client charged with retail fraud does not have any prior criminal record, with the exception of possible prior minor infractions or misdemeanors.
  • Shoplifters target easily concealable merchandise, such as cosmetics, food items, lingerie, jewelry.
  • Shoplifting often occurs at the self checkout by attempting to defeat the scanner or by scanning an item or barcode that is a lower price.
  • Many individuals accused of retail fraud have made legitimate purchases at the retail establishment and have financial means to pay for the item(s) improperly taken.
  • The value of the property taken is under $1,000.00.

Retail Fraud: Concealment, Scanners, Changing Price Tags

Retail fraud occurs in many different ways. It can be accomplished by taking property and attempting to conceal it, by changing a price tag  or putting item in a container that is offered for sale for a lesser amount. Retail fraud also occurs frequently at the point of checkout at a self-scanner or when someone tries to defeat the bar code scanning equipment by spurious means.

Retail Fraud Over $1,000 = Felony, Under $1,000 = Misdemeanor

Retail fraud crimes can be charged as a felony or misdemeanor and are classified by the value of the property taken or whether the offender has a prior record. A prior record for larceny, false pretenses or a prior retail fraud may result in enhanced penalties.

  • 1st Degree Retail Fraud, Felony: Maximum Penalty: Up to 5 years in prison, $10,000.00 fine, court costs. Value of Property or Money: $1,000.00 or more
  • 2nd Degree Retail Fraud: Misdemeanor: Maximum Penalty: 1 year jail, $2,000.00 fine, court costs. Value of Property or Money: $200.00 but less than $1,000.00
  • 3rd Degree Retail Fraud: Misdemeanor: Maximum Penalty: 93 days jail, $500.00 fine, court costs.  Value of Property or Money: Under $200.00

Triple Penalty: In addition to the above penalties, the court has the option to  impose a fine, or a penalty up to 3x the amount of property or money attempted to be misappropriated, whichever is greater.

Civil Demand Letter: The retail business may send a letter requesting up to $200.00 from the alleged offender even before the case is within the court system. The criminal retail fraud matter will not be dropped just because this amount is paid. The civil demand for money and the criminal proceedings are separate and distinct matters.

Impulsive Behavior, First Offender?

Approximately 20,000 larceny related crimes are reported each year in Michigan. Larceny related crimes include retail fraud. Shoplifting is not limited to those that are underprivileged. In general, our clients have never been in trouble, have financial resources and their conduct can be described as an isolated incident. In other cases, we have also represented those that are impoverished or suffer from a compulsive shoplifting disorder. It is our job to work with our clients to understand why our client is charged with a crime so that we can provide effective legal representation and solutions.

  • Impulsive behavior: Impulsive conduct, or acting before you think, is also high on the list of reasons that a person engages in the offense of retail fraud.  Impulsive behavior is not limited to juveniles or youthful offenders. Our Macomb County criminal defense lawyers have represented individuals in every age group and every walk-of life including senior citizens and mini-van-moms who site impulsiveness as a reason for committing an act of retail fraud. We label many retail fraud cases as an “isolated incident” which means that it is not likely to ever occur again. Most impulsive or first time offenders are not likely to become a client again for retail fraud and most courts go give leniency for first time offenders engaged in a one time “isolated incident”.
  • Psychological issues, adjustments to medications: Pre-existing psychological conditions including, PTSD, depression, ADHD, along with adjustments to prescription medications, can sometimes be the cause of erratic or irrational conduct that leads to a person to engage in risky behavior.  The court system is sensitive to those that are dealing with a psychological disorder or maybe recent stressful situation that causes inappropriate conduct. In these cases, we may recommend that our client begin a counseling program, attend a retail fraud prevention class or take some other proactive course of action.  We will obtain as much background information as possible from our clients and make recommendations that can often make a vast difference in the outcome of a case once it is in the court system.

I have been arrested for retail fraud. What do I do next?

Being arrested for any crime can be a devastating experience. If you are caught shoplifting and are looking at being charged with retail fraud, you will either be arrested or given a citation with instructions to contact the court. If you find yourself in this position, hiring a local criminal defense lawyer is your best course of action to navigate your case and get you out of the system smoothly and expeditiously.

Macomb County Misdemeanor Case Procedure

Arraignment: An arraignment is where the court will read the charge(s), advise the accuse of his or her right to an attorney, set bond and schedule the next court date.

  • Discovery: The next stage of the case is called discovery which means both sides have the right to gather all of the evidence.
  • Motions: Motions may need to be filed when the court’s is needed to address pre-trial issues.
  • Pretrial Conference: The pretrial conference is an important stage in a criminal case which typically results in a resolution of a case without heading to trial.
  • Trial: A person accused of a crime is entitled to a trial before a jury.
  • Burden of Proof: The prosecutor must prove its case beyond a reasonable doubt or the jury is required to return a verdict of not guilty.
  • Pre-sentence Report: If a person is found guilty of a misdemeanor, the court may require the individual to interviewed by the probation department.
  • Sentence: The sentence stage of a case is where the court can impose jail, probation, fines, court costs, restitution, counseling, alcohol and/or drug testing.

A lawyer should be obtained as soon as possible once a person is released from police custody. Remember, the police, prosecutor and court personnel do not give legal advice.

Getting a second chance in Macomb County Courts!

The outcome of a retail fraud case in the Macomb County Districts Courts will depend upon various factors including:

  • The prior criminal record of the offender.
  • Cooperation with authorities.
  • The value of the property stolen can make a minor retail fraud offense into a felony.
  • The proactive measures taken by the offender prior to the first court date.

Judge Thomas Boyd: “Defendants too eager to admit wrongdoing without consulting a lawyer.” 

While retail fraud cases do not usually involve jail, they can be devastating on a person’s permanent criminal record. A retail fraud offense can label an individual as a “thief” or “dishonest” person. At some point during the legal proceedings, the offender will be judicially interrogated. Saying the wrong thing to the prosecutor or the judge can result in permanent conviction.  The guidance of a criminal defense lawyer can make a huge difference in whether the offender gets stuck in the system or gets a second chance for a dismissal.  In the following Macomb County District Courts, a plea bargain with a disposition for a dismissal is feasible for first offenders charged with retail fraud 3rd degree in every Macomb County Court!

Deferrals, First Offender Programs:  When a client has never been convicted of a crime, we may be able to advocate for a plea bargain to obtain a first offender program  ask that the case be taken under advisement with a dismissal after a period of probation. Probation is rarely more than 1 year but can be as short as 6 months.

Youthful Offenders: Individuals that qualify as youthful offenders (age 18 but under age 26), may qualify for disposition of a criminal case, including retail fraud, pursuant to the HYTA statute. An individual that is granted HYTA status will  benefit by getting the criminal charge(s) sealed and dismissed at the end of a period of probation.

Felony Retail Fraud: When someone is charged with felony retail fraud in the first degree, our goal may be to avoid jail and a felony conviction.

Continue reading ›

P6240085-scaled

License Revocations and Appeals to the OHAO: 

I wanted to use this post as a forum to reflect on my vast experience handling driver license appeals with the Michigan  Department of State, Office of Hearings and Administrative Oversight (OHAO). The OHAO was formerly called the Driver License Appeal Division or DLAD. The OHAO is the administrative body of the Secretary of State that conduct driver license restoration hearings. The hearing officers are licensed attorneys that are employed by the State of Michigan. In comparison to Michigan District Court or Circuit Court Judges, The hearing officers are not elected or appointed for a designated term.

Following the COVID pandemic, OHAO hearings are conducted remotely. Presently, the OHAO utilizes the Microsoft Teams video conferencing application to conduct hearings. Click here for a directory of the OHAO hearing officers and the link to the OHAO MS Teams portal.

  • WINNING OHAO HEARING: If you win your OHAO hearing, you will be allowed to operate a vehicle on a restricted basis with a Breath Alcohol Ignition Interlock Device (BAIID). After you have had the device on your vehicle for a minimum of one (1) year, you can file a request for a second hearing FOR REMOVAL OF THE BAIID AND FOR  FULL RESTORATION of your driver’s license.
  • LOSING OHAO HEARING: If you lose your OHAO hearing, you are not eligible for another OHAO hearing for a period of one (1) year.

HOW WILL YOU ANSWER THESE QUESTIONS??

A hearing is subject to the rules of evidence and is conducted by the petitioner’s driver license restoration attorney and the hearing officer. Hearings last approximately 30 to 45 minutes. Here is a partial list of questions that may be covered at an OHAO hearing:

  • Are you an alcoholic?
  • Have you ever used drugs?
  • Do you have a medical marijuana card?
  • Do you think it would ok to partake in a toast at a wedding with an alcoholic beverage?
  • Do you continue to attend Alcoholics Anonymous or a counseling program?
  • Why didn’t you stop drinking after your first drinking and driving offense?
  • Do you see yourself drinking at any time in the future?
  • Did you drink on a daily basis? Weekly basis? Monthly basis?
  • What kind of alcohol did you consume (beer, hard liquor, wine)?
  • How much would you consume per sitting?
  • Do you keep any alcoholic beverages in your residence?
  • Does anyone in your household consume alcoholic beverages?
  • Do you ever go to bars or places where alcohol is served?
  • Do you know the serenity prayer?
  • Do you know the 12 AA steps?
  • What is your relapse history?
  • What is the longest period of maintaining sobriety?
  • Are you on probation?

Your answers to these questions, along with several more, can make or break you! If you need help with any of the questions, do not hesitate to hire an experience driver license restoration lawyer in Macomb County. An experienced Michigan license restoration lawyer will work with you to win your case. This means that your lawyer make sure that all of your documentation is consistent and effective before it is submitted to the Secretary of State and will prepare you to answer the questions that are likely to be raised at your hearing.

When can a person’s license be revoked

A person that is classified as a habitual drunk driver or has a felony conviction involving a motor vehicle faces indefinite license revocation. Indefinite license revocations are imposed for the following scenarios:

  • 2 or more offenses for operating under the influence (drugs or alcohol) within 7 years.
  • 3 or more offenses for operating under the influence (drugs or alcohol) within 10 years.
  • A conviction for operating under the influence causing a serious personal injury.
  • A conviction for operating under the influence causing death.
  • A felony conviction which results in license revocation.

Appealing a license revocation: Evidence MUST be consistent!

There is a long list of evidence that is required and must be submitted before a client can get an OHAO hearing:

  • Form 258: Current substance abuse evaluation.
  • Form 257: Petitioner’s background.
  • Drug Screen: 12 panel drug test with at least two integrity variables.
  • 3-6 Character Letters: At least 3 letters are required that verify sobriety of the petitioner.
  • DI4P-Physician Statement: This form is required when a person has a medical condition, or uses certain medications, that may have an impact on the person’s ability to operate a vehicle.
  • Optional: Evidence of attendance at support meetings, counseling, AA.
  • Optional: Other positive documentation such as completion of probation, Sobriety Court, etc.

Link to forms 257 and 258, license appeal hearing

Hiring an attorney that knows the OHAO process should be your first priority if you are thinking about a license appeal. The license restoration process is very particular and specialized. Just because you waited several years for a hearing, went to jail or need a license to work does not mean that you will win your hearing. You must present consistent credible evidence for your licensee restoration hearing. With certain hearing officers, your evidence muse be almost perfect or you can risk losing your hearing! Unfortunately, the standards set forth regarding the evidence are not entirely objective and are not always applied fairly.

Losing is not an option!

You will lose your hearing if your evidence does not prove that you are likely to remain sober. You must be able to c0mmunicate your case to the OHAO with supportive evidence that you understand your duty to protect the public and that it is never acceptable to operate a vehicle under the influence of alcohol or drugs, An experienced OHAO practitioner can increase your chances of winning an OHAO hearing by and prepare you for your evaluation. The following are examples of just a few ways that you can lose your OHAO hearing:

  • Probation has not been terminated.
  • A longer period of sobriety is necessary.
  • Character letters or other documentation are incomplete.
  • Inconsistent evidence and sobriety dates.
  • Failure to mention all prior criminal offenses.
  • Failure to know the AA steps if you are attending AA meetings.
  • Failure to obtain a doctor’s letter if you are taking certain medications for sleep, pain or psychological reasons.

By being well prepared by an experienced driver license appeal attorney, you are more likely to win your hearing. Unfortunately, if you lose your hearing, you are not eligible to file a request for another hearing for a period of one (1) year.  THIS IS WHY WE SAY “LOSING IS NOT AN OPTION!”

Getting you ready for your hearing

In the aftermath of Covid-19, OHAO hearings are now held remotely via Microsoft Teams.

Oftentimes we represent clients who have already attempted a hearing without the help of counsel. Even though they have winning cases, they lose simply because they did not know how to present their case to the OHAO. An individual that appears before the OHAO must be able to testify as to their past and also as to their present and future behavior. A person’s background regarding use of alcohol and drugs is scrutinized because the State of Michigan owes a huge responsibility to the drivers of Michigan, and the burden is on the petitioner to show they are again worthy of the privilege of driving.

Proceedings before the OHAO are very unique. First, most clients are surprised to hear that they are not adversarial, per se. Additionally, most are not aware that the hearing officer is going to ask probing and invasive questions about their substance abuse history. Lastly, and perhaps most importantly, many people do not realize there is a RIGHT way to approach these hearings and answer the questions.

That being said, our office has developed a paradigm for approaching all cases. From our first consultation we explain to clients the strengths and weaknesses of their case, and give an honest assessment of if the matter is worth pursuing. Our track record with these types of cases is very good, we generally win. We know how to win and what is expected because our lawyers have appeared before each OHAO officer as much as any other attorney in the State of Michigan.

Winning your license restoration hearing

When you win your license restoration hearing after serving a mandatory period of revocation, you will be allowed to drive with some restrictions and requirements. At the very least, the OHAO will require the installation of a Breath Alcohol Ignition Interlock Device (BAIID). In addition, the petitioner will only be allowed to drive for designated purposes, such as employment, or for designated days and hours.

After successfully abiding by the restrictions and requirements for a period of at least one (1) year, the individual may file an appeal to the OHAO for a FULL RESTORATION OF LICENSE. The same documentation (form 257, form 258, character letters, etc.) must be supplied to the OHAO, along with a current BAIID report, before a full license restoration hearing can be scheduled.,

The Breath Alcohol Ignition Interlock Device (BAIID) and BAIID Violations

In Michigan, you are considered a habitual drunk driver if:

  • Two or more DUI convictions within 7 years.
  • Three or more DUI convictions within 10 years.

Habitual offenders that are able to get their license restored will be allowed to operate a vehicle that has a BAIID device installed. As we have discussed, a person that has multiple driving under the influence convictions will not be eligible to appeal for a license until the minimum revocation period has been served. After serving the minimum revocation period, the party is required to prove his or her case before the OHAO. If you are well prepared and your evidence is consistent, you can expect to win your hearing and be granted a restricted license with the BAIID device.

A BAIID is a technical device that measures a person’s bodily alcohol content (BAC) and is connected with a motor vehicle’s ignition and other control systems. The BAIID keeps the vehicle from starting if the BAC is .025 or higher. The BAIID also includes a camera which records an image of the individual providing the sample. The device will also require random rolling retests while the person is driving the vehicle.

If there are alcohol readings or other BAIID violations after the device is installed, they will be reported to the Secretary of State as violations. If the BAIID has a false positive violation for alcohol, we strongly urge you to find a location as soon as you can to provide a breath sample that will nullify the false reading. You should also keep a notebook in the vehicle and write down anything to support your case should you be improperly violated.

BAIID VIOLATIONSBAIID violations are classified as “minor” and “major” violations:

Major Violations:

  • Rolling retest violation: Failing to take the retest when prompted by the BAIID; or the random retest detects a BAC of .025 or higher, and there is no sample with a BAC of less than .025 within 5 minutes.
  • An arrest or conviction for drunk and/or drugged driving.
  • Tampering or circumventing with the BAIID.
  • Three minor violations within a monitoring period.
  • Removing the BAIID without having another device installed within 7 days.
  • Operating a vehicle without a properly installed BAIID.

VIOLATION CONSEQUENCES: Minor violations will result in a 3-month BAIID extension. Major violations will result in the immediate reinstatement of your original driver’s license revocation/denial. You may appeal that action to the Office of Hearings and Administrative Oversight within 14 days and should consult with a lawyer if you find yourself in this position.

Go for the win the first time!

We take the time to learn each client’s unique case history and work on tailoring each case to that individual’s circumstances. We believe in each client’s cause and fight aggressively to get petitioners back on the road. Our office has a strong record of winning cases like this. We have a proven formula that gets results.

Continue reading ›

youthful offender

Effective October 1, 2021

HYTA is available for youthful criminal offenders ages 18 – before age 26

This is why HYTA dispositions for criminal offenses are such a big deal:

  • The court does not enter a judgment of conviction,
  • The record is sealed,
  • HYTA may be used for an unlimited number of eligible criminal offenses,
  • HYTA is NEVER AUTOMATIC and it must be accepted by the Court and approved by the prosecutor under certain circumstances, 
  • The offense(s) taken under HYTA are not required to be disclosed on applications, and
  • The case is dismissed upon compliance with conditions laid out by the court!  

Michigan’s  newest version of the Holmes Youthful Trainee Act (HYTA) goes into effect on October 1, 2021. Prior to October 1, 2021, HYTA applied only to individuals under the age of 24. The latest rendition of Michigan’s HYTA statute provides youthful adult offenders, ages 18 but before age 26, with an opportunity to keep a criminal offense, including serious felonies, off of his or her permanent criminal record.  Dismissals pursuant to HYTA means that the offender avoids the stigma and public record of a criminal conviction. Subject to some exceptions, HYTA is available for most felonies and misdemeanors. In addition, under most circumstances, a conviction under HYTA status is not required to be disclosed on an application for employment or education.. HYTA status can be taken away if an individual violates the terms and conditions ordered by the court. Getting charged with another crime while on HYTA status is a clear violation that could result in LOSING HYTA status, inthe discretion of the Judge.

HYTA is not available for juveniles (under age 18) or for offenders that are age 26 or older. However, there are other provisions of law that can benefit juveniles and adult offenders over age 25.

How do you get a HYTA disposition? Rule #1: HYTA applies only for those age 18 but before age 26!

Having an experienced criminal defense lawyer can mean the difference between winding up with a conviction or getting a criminal case dismissed. Although HYTA requires a formal “plea of guilty”, the court does not enter a judgment of conviction and Michigan State Police records are sealed as soon as the court assigns an individual to HYTA status.

According to the HYTA law (MCL 762.11), the prosecutor shall consult with the victim regarding the applicability of this section. The consent of the prosecutor may be required depending upon the age of the defendant at the time of the alleged offense:

  • Prosecutor’s consent is not required  for offenses committed on or after the offender’s 18th birthday but before his or her 21st birthday.
  • Prosecutor’s consent is mandatory for offenses committed on or after the offender’s 21st birthday but before his or her 26th birthday.

HYTA is not guaranteed and may be rejected by the court. Hiring a local Macomb County criminal defense attorney that knows the laws and has excellent skills dealing with local judges, police and prosecutors is vital for those that want the best possible advantage in the legal system.

You can get HYTA more than once and other helpful information

The HYTA law has many special features including the following:

  • There is no limit on the number of cases which may be placed on HYTA status.
  • Juvenile offenders (under age 18) are not eligible for HYTA but may be eligible for a disposition in the juvenile system with the same result such as diversion or consent calendar.
  • HYTA is not guaranteed and may be rejected by the judge even if the prosecutor, police and victim consent.
  • HYTA may include jail, probation, counseling and restitution to any victims.
  • The court may require an individual that is given HYTA status to be drug/alcohol tested, maintain employment or attend high school.

The following offenses are not eligible for HYTA

The essence of HYTA is that it allows for eligible criminal offenses committed by youthful offenders to be dismissed and sealed. HYTA is available for most misdemeanors and felonies. However, the HYTA statute lists various offenses which are not eligible for HYTA status as follows:

  • Traffic crimes (DWLS, Fail to Stop at the Scene of an Accident),
  • Drunk driving, Super Drunk Driving,
  • Major controlled substance offenses,
  • Major criminal sexual conduct offenses,
  • A felony for which the maximum penalty is imprisonment for life.

Talk to an experienced criminal defense lawyer that knows the local courts and ways to get you out of the system with the best possible outcome.

HELP: Will anything show up on my record if my case is dismissed under HYTA status?

Our attorneys are asked this question every single day. As we have explained, HYTA specifically says that upon the court’s acceptance of HYTA status, there is no adjudication of guilt, the record is sealed and the case is dismissed upon compliance with any conditions spelled out by the court. The benefit of HYTA cannot be overstated. It is an excellent deal which we have used to get thousands of criminal charges DISMISSED. As far as the record of an individual is concerned after getting a case dismissed upon compliance with a HYTA disposition, we can only say that it will be sealed by the court and the Michigan State Police and the public will not be able to view your record.  Should anyone contact the court about your record after HYTA has been granted, the court employees are instructed to say: “THERE IS NO PUBLIC RECORD” and “THE EXISTENCE OF HYTA RECORDS CANNOT BE DISCLOSED“.

Unfortunately, HYTA protection is limited and does not mean that your record is destroyed, disintegrates or vanishes.  The history of all criminal cases, including those disposed of pursuant to HYTA status, are forever maintained by the court, FBI and Michigan State Police. In addition, Michigan law gives  certain entities (courts, law enforcement) access to HYTA records that would otherwise be classified as non-public. In addition to law enforcement agencies, other entities are also given access to HYTA records including: financial institutions, educational institutions, utility companies, and health care companies.

Most prevalent crimes are eligible for HYTA

Most non-traffic misdemeanors and felonies are eligible for HYTA status. HYTA status is available for all of the following common criminal offenses:

HYTA is not available in the federal court system. However, the federal court system does have programs, such as diversion or pardon, that allows for a federal crime to be dismissed.

Traffic Offenses and Drunk Drunk are Not Eligible for HYTA

Although traffic offenses and Drunk Driving offenses are not eligible for HYTA, we are often able to get them amended to avoid any traffic points and also avoid a criminal conviction.

Can you lose HYTA status once it is granted by the court

A person that is given HYTA status remains on HYTA status until the end of a period of probation. There are always some rules and conditions that the court will impose for individuals that are given HYTA status. Violation of any rule or condition imposed by the court can result in losing HYTA status, abstracting the criminal conviction and imposition of further sentencing which could include jail. Getting charged with another crime while on HYTA status will always constitute a violation.  When a person is violated, the court will conduct a hearing to determine if a person will retain or lose his or her HYTA status.  In my opinion, most judges do not like to take away a person’s HYTA status and I would say that a judge will usually bend over backwards to allow a person to stay on HYTA. A HYTA violation  is a serious matter that requires a solid plan ahead of time that can make a difference in keeping or losing HYTA status. However, keeping HYTA status may have consequences such as serving some time in jail. Do not hesitate to consult with an attorney if you find yourself in this position.

Other Michigan provisions which are similar to HYTA

There are other laws which can be used in Michigan to get a criminal case dismisssed or under control which include: which can be resolved by laws which are similar to HYTA. They are as follows:

MCL 769.4a is used to get domestic violence offenses dismissed.

MCL 333.7411 is used to get drug crimes dismissed.

MCL 780.621 is Michigan’s “Clean Slate” or expungement law.

Continue reading ›

macomb_county_district_courts_map

Romeo: 42nd District Court Division 1

Above, is a map of Macomb County with a geographical breakdown of the 9 district court borders. The 42nd District Court-Division 1 is located in the City of Romeo. It is often referred to as the Romeo Court. The court has jurisdiction over a greater area of land than any other district court in Macomb County and serves the following northern Macomb County communities: Romeo, Washington Township, Armada Village, Armada Township, Richmond, Richmond Township, Memphis (south of Boardman Rd), Ray Township and Bruce Township.

New Baltimore: 42nd District Court Division 2

The 42ndDistrict Court Division 2 is located in the City of New Baltimore and it serves the communities of New Baltimore, Chesterfield Township, Village of New Haven and the Lenox Township.

Traffic and Criminal Caseload of the 42nd District Courts

The 42-1 District Court, which is the one located in Romeo, and the 42-2 District Court, located in New Balimore, have jurisdiction over civil disputes not exceeding $25,000.00, and the following other legal proceedings:

Arraignments: All misdemeanor and felony arraignments occur at the district court level. Arraignment is the first stage of a criminal case following authorization of a criminal charge.

Misdemeanors: The district courts have complete jurisdiction over misdemeanors. Misdemeanors are crimes punishable by up to one year in the county jail and/or fines up to $1,000.00.

Felonies: All felony cases begin in the district court for arraignment, probable cause conference and preliminary examination. Felony proceedings beyond preliminary examination are handled in the higher circuit unless resolved in the district court by a reduction to a misdemeanor.

Traffic: The district courts have complete jurisdiction over traffic tickets. Getting a lawyer to fight a traffic ticket to avoid points and higher insurance premiums is a wise investment.

Drunk driving, domestic violence and retail fraud are some of the most prevalent cases on the criminal dockets at the 42-1 District Court and the 42-2 District Court. Judge William Hackel presides over the 42-2 District and Judge Andary presides over the the 42-1 District Court.  Because of our consistently high criminal caseload at these courts, we consider both 42nd District Courts to be “home-town” courts. This ABDO LAW publication will focus on our experience representing clients charged with drunk driving, domestic violence and retail fraud cases at the 42nd District Courts.

Drunk Driving 

Getting nailed for drunk driving can be an ordeal no matter where it happens. However, it does make a big difference if you get a local Macomb County DUI/OWI lawyer that is experienced with the court and the judge assigned to your case.

Nationwide, less than 10% of all drunk driving cases wind up going to trial. This statistic holds true for drunk driving cases that are heard at the 42nd District Courts located in Romeo and New Baltinore, as well as every other district court in the counties of Macomb, Oakland, Wayne and St. Clair. However, I can tell you that if you get an OWI/DUI in the 42-1 District (Romeo Division) or the 42-2 District Court (New Baltimore Division), you are looking at the best-case-scenario. By best-case-scenario I mean that you are looking at getting the charge REDUCED, NO JAIL and NOT LOSING YOUR LICENSE. This is true for the drunk driving cases that we have handled for FIRST TIME OFFENDERS in the 42-1 and 42-2 District Courts from 2020-2021 where we were able to get every OWI and High BAC (.17 or more) dropped down to a lower charge with NO JAIL.  There are a few differences in the way things are done in the sister courts located in Romeo and New Baltimore. The Romeo Court is more likely to require supervised probation and alcohol testing for first offenders than New Baltimore. However, Romeo’s Judge Andary will consider early termination of probation and modification of random testing for individuals that are have been compliant.

The following are your most common options if you are charged with drunk driving

  1. Hire an attorney to negotiate the best possible plea bargain and advocate for a minimal sentence. Note: even felony drunk driving third offense can potentially be reduced to a misdemeanor!
  2. File motions to seek dismissal or reduction in the charge(s) based upon:  lack of evidence of intoxication or impairment, mistakes as to testing protocol, illegal traffic stop, lack of evidence to support the element that vehicle was “operated” by the defendant.
  3. Conducting a trial before the judge or a jury.

As I mentioned, more than 90% if OWI/DUI are resolved when an attorney can negotiate a favorable outcome that is far better than risking a guilty verdict to the higher original charges at trial. Because a local Romeo or New Baltimore drunk driving attorney knows the local polices, politics and procedures, you should never plead guilty as charged without getting sound legal advice. Watch your ass if you are getting your legal advice from the cop that arrested you and said that you don’t need a lawyer. You should also know that the court personnel are forbidden to give legal advice by every district court in Macomb County.

Link: extensive coverage of DUI/OWI cases in Macomb County.

Shoplifting-Retail Fraud

The terminology given by the Michigan Penal Code for the crime of shoplifting is “retail fraud.” Intentionally changing price tags, concealing merchandise and failing to scan merchandise are all forms of retail fraud. The offense of retail fraud may be charged as a misdemeanor or a felony. In Michigan, a misdemeanor is defined as an offense that is punishable by not more than 1 year in the county jail while a felony is a criminal offense punishable by more than 1 year – up to life in prison. The dollar amount of underlying theft and/or the prior retail fraud criminal record of the offender are the determining factors as to whether a person is charged with a misdemeanor or felony. The penalties for retail fraud are as follows:

First degree retail fraud: Theft of property of $1,000.00 or more constitutes retail fraud in the first degree, which is a felony under Michigan law, and carries up to 5 years in prison, or a fine of not more than $10,000.00 or 3 times the value of property stolen.

Second degree retail fraud: Theft of property of $200.00 up to $1,000.00 constitutes retail fraud in the second degree and carries up to 1 year in county jail, up to $2,000.00 fine or 3 times the value of property stolen.

Third degree retail fraud: Theft of property under $200.00 constitutes retail fraud in the third degree and carries up to 93 days in jail, up to $500.00 fine or 3 times the value of property stolen.

Judge Jennifer Andary and Judge William Hackel will go out of their way to give someone a second chance. Normally, almost every misdemeanor, including retail fraud, can be favorably resolved in the 42-1 District and the 42-2 District.  To be specific, both courts will take a retail fraud under advisement or set a deferral period. Upon successful completion of the deferral period the case is DISMISSED. During the deferral period, the offender is required to comply with any of the following conditions ordered by the court:

  • Attend appropriate program ranging from a 1-day class to a long-term substance abusecounseling program.
  • Possible drug/alcohol testing.
  • No contact with the retail establishment where the offense occurred.
  • Payment of combined fines and costs approximately $1,000.00.
  • Possible community service.

If you are charged with a felony, ask a local Macomb County criminal defense lawyer how it is possible to get it reduced to a misdemeanor, avoid jail and avoid a felony record.

Link: extensive coverage of retail fraud cases in Macomb County

Domestic Violence and Assault

The crimes of domestic violence and assault & battery are found in MCL 750.81

Most of those that we represent for domestic violence or assault have never been in trouble with the law and are looking for a way to get out of the system Scott-Free without a domestic violence conviction. An outright dismissal of a domestic violence or assault crime in Macomb County is possible when the victim does not want to prosecute. This is not as easy as it sounds and the services of an experienced local Macomb County criminal defense attorney can make a huge difference between getting a case dismissed and winding up with a big fat legal mess.  A local Macomb County domestic violence lawyer will formulate an individualized strategy to deal with the following potential problems that may arise:

  • How the victim should respond to the prosecutor and victim’s rights advocate.
  • Whether the victim will be held in contempt of court for failing to appear for a court date or trial.
  • How to deal with the prosecutor that intends to use the police report and witness statements when the victim does not cooperate.
  • How to avoid getting hit with witness tampering and/or obstruction of justice accusations.

Big 3 Options if you are charged with Assault or Domestic Violence: There are 3 options in the criminal justice system for a person charged with an assault crime or domestic violence which are as follows: 

  1. Seeking a dismissal when the victim adamantly does not want to testify or appear against the accused party.
  2. Pleading pursuant to MCL 760.4a which will result in a dismissal after a term of probation.
  3. Conducting a trial before the judge or a jury.

Link: extensive coverage of assault and domestic violence cases in Macomb County

 

Continue reading ›

vectorstock_18344287
ABDO LAW has several publications dedicated to “frequently asked criminal law questions and topics”. This publication is committed to the topic of  pretrial conferences and probable cause conferences in Macomb County District Courts. The signficance of pretrial conferences and probable cause cannot be ignored. The vast majority of criminal cases are resolved by a plea bargain during these stages of the criminal process. According to the Bureau of Justice Statistics, about 95 percent of criminal cases in the state and federal system are disposed of through the process of plea bargain.

What is a pretrial conference? A probable cause conference?

Pretrial conferences are scheduled in both criminal and civil cases. For criminal misdemeanor cases, a pretrial conference is a meeting that is scheduled by the court and attended by the defendant’s attorney and the prosecuting attorney.   The major purposes of a pretrial conference and probable cause conference is to facilitate resolution of a case, management of a case for trial or management of a case regarding other housekeeping matters (listed below).  Generally, the Judge and witnesses are not directly involved in the conference process. However, the victim will be advised regarding the outcome of a pretrial conference and most prosecuting attorneys require the consent of the victim to any plea bargain to reduce or amend criminal charges. In addition to negotiations and plea bargaining, there may be pretrial hearings on the validity of confessions, searches, identification, etc. Other matters covered at the pretrial conference include motions and requests to determine whether evidence will be admitted or suppressed at trial. In truth, most judges hate trials and will encourage the litigants to strive for case resolution. If a case is not resolved, the court may schedule additional pretrial conferences to give the parties an opportunity to fully explore the possibility of plea bargaining. Getting a criminal charge dismissed is also a possible pretrial conference result. 

drug abuse.jpg

Drug overdose deaths on the rise!

Drug overdose deaths exceed 100,000 per year in the United States

Recently compiled information derived from CDC’s National Center for Health Statistics indicates that there were an estimated 100,306 drug overdose deaths in the United States during 12-month period ending in April 2021. This represents an increase in drug deaths of 28.5% from the 78,000 deaths during the same period in the prior year. A breakdown of the statistics for this period shows an increase in deaths due to cocaine, fentanyl, heroin and methamphetamine.  In addition, overdose deaths from opioids were 75,674 nationally compared to 56,064 in the prior year. There have been approximately 1,000,000 drug overdose deaths since 1999. 

 

D52061D2-A468-44D3-8C63-5EC426E443F5

According to 2019 Michigan State Police records – 4,933 crimes were reported to the Clinton Township Police. The majority of crimes reported were for larceny, retail fraud (shoplifting), operating while intoxicated (OWI), OWI with a high BAC (.17 or more), domestic violence and assault crimes. The jurisdictional geographical boundaries of the 41B District Court include Clinton Township, Mt. Clemens & Harrison Township. 

41B District Court Information, Location, Zoom Identification

The 41B District Court  has jurisdiction to handle civil, traffic and criminal cases arising in Clinton Township, Harrison Township and Mount Clemens.

  • 41B District Court Address: 22380 Starks Drive, Clinton Township, Michigan 48038
  • Map: Link to map
  • Phone: 586-469-9300
  • Zoom Administrator ID: 218-957-8812
  • Magistrate Zoom ID: 843-970-5882

Clinton Township has its own police department while Harrison Township and Mount Clemens employ the Macomb County Sheriff’s Department for police services. The 41B District Court is served by 3 judges: Judge Sebastian Lucido, Judge Jacob Femminineo and Judge Carrie Lynn Fuca. In 2020, Judge Femminineo replaced long standing Judge Linda Davis. Judge Linda Davis is now active in the organization that she spearheaded, Families Against Narcotics (FAN).

41B District Court has an expansive jurisdiction with east to west borders from Lake St. Clair in Harrison Township to Hayes Road, and north and south borders from 14 Mile Road to Hall Road. The area has a diverse mixture of established and newer real estate, shopping centers, major retailers (Target, Walmart, etc.) Macomb County Community College, and the Partridge Creek Mall. The Macomb County Sheriff’s Department and the Clinton Township Police are the predominant law enforcement agencies in the area.

More than 10% of the total number of crimes in Macomb County are reported in 41B District Court boundaries. In 2019, there were 41,683 crimes reported in Macomb County with 4,933 being reported through the Clinton Township Police Department and several more reported to the Macomb County Sheriff Department.

We are frequent practitioners in the 41B District Court with more experience in that jurisdiction than any other attorneys in Macomb County.  In our opinion, the 41B District Court will give a person a second chance and has a philosophy to encourage rehabilitation and therapeutic justice rather than jail and punitive measures. 

Hire a lawyer now! Court personnel cannot give legal advice and the prosecutor does not represent you!

The court staff, the prosecutor and judicial officers are forbidden by law to provide you with legal advice. If you are facing a criminal or drunk driving matter in the 41B District Court, you need a skilled Clinton Township criminal defense lawyer to fight for your rights and get your life back on track. The 41B District handles a wide range of the criminal cases that occur in Clinton Township, Harrison Township and Mount Clemens.  The following is list of some of the most prevalent misdemeanor and felony cases on the 41B District Court’s criminal docket:

Crimes involving firearms are also on the rise throughout Macomb County. Gun crimes include carry a concealed weapon, brandishing a firearm and possession of a firearm under the influence.

Dismissals, felonies reduced to misdemeanors: There’s always a way to resolve a legal predicament. Just because you are guilty does not mean that you will be found guilty. In many cases, there’s a way to get out of the criminal justice system unscathed and without a conviction or by getting a felony dropped down to a petty offense.  An attorney can explain how all of these special provisions of law are utilized in the 41-B District Court which can result in a dismissal of a criminal matter:

Multiple criminal offenses and drunk driving are eligible for expungement

Michigan has adopted Clean Slate legislation that enables eligible individuals to get multiple offenses, and one drunk driving offense, expunged. For the first time ever (effective February 19, 2022) an individual can file a petition to get any of the following offenses for drinking or drugged driving expunged:

  • Operating While Intoxicated (OWI)
  • Operating While Visibly Impaired (OWVI)
  • High BAC .17 or more or Super Drunk Driving
  • Minor with any BAC (Zero Tolerance)
  • Operating with the Presence of a Controlled Substance conviction

The following driving offenses are not eligible for expungement:

  • OWI with a child (passenger under 16)
  • OWI or Impaired Driving causing serious injury
  • OWI or Impaired Driving causing death.

Retail Fraud Cases in the 41B District Court: DISMISSED!

The offense of retail fraud, also known as shoplifting, can occur when an individual intentionally does any of the following at a retail or business establishment:

  • Conceals property with the intent to steal
  • Changes a price tag or packaging of an item
  • Attempts to defeat the checkout scanner

If you are charged with retail fraud, chances are that you have not been in trouble before and had the money to pay for the goods. If a client is not a US citizen, we will take extra measures in our negotiations to AVOID DEPORTATION. Getting the best 41B District Court retail fraud lawyer is important if you want to keep your dignity, keep your case private, avoid deportation and get the charge dismissed with NO JAIL.

Domestic Violence

Are you being charged with domestic violence in the 41B District Court? Are other attorneys telling you to just plead guilty? Have you been told that you can’t get the no-contact order lifted? Does your significant other, spouse or other side want the case dismissed? If you are in this position, get a Macomb County domestic violence lawyer to explain how you can get the charge DISMISSED, can get the no-contact order lifted and will not be labeled with an assault crime.

Over 200 Charged with Operating While Intoxicated in the 41B District in 2019

There is always a consistently high number of OWI/DUI cases in the 41B District Court. From our experience, you are not looking at jail or losing your license for a first time drinking/drugged driving offense. In addition, if you are charged with a felony OWI/DUI (OWI Third), there is a good chance it can be reduced to a misdemeanor with the right 41B District Court drunk driving lawyers. It is extremely difficult and rare, but not impossible, to get a drinking and driving offense reduced to a non-criminal offense. Fortunately, the judges in the 41B District Court have a sentencing philosophy that encourages rehabilitation rather than incarceration.

If a person is charged with Super DUI (BAC .17 or greater), there is a good chance it can be reduced to a lower offense. Using local Clinton Township drunk driving defense lawyers that know the local policies, practices and prosecutors is your best bet if you are looking to get significant deal on any drunk driving case.

All of the 41B District Court Judges have been in private law practice 

The 41B District Court bench all had careers in the private sector running their own law practices. The 41B District Court Judges all know what its like to stand next to another person that is falsely accused of a crime or needs someone to fight for their rights. The 41B District Court is a court system that works with lawyers and those accused of crimes to deliver just and fair results.

From the moment that there is an arrest or a criminal investigation, you need to all of the protection that a local criminal defense attorney can offer. Getting a local Clinton Township criminal defense attorney that knows the system is the best place to start if you are looking to get out of the court system with the best possible outcome.

The 41B District Court Probation Department

It is within the judge’s discretion whether or not to place an individual on probation after being convicted of a criminal or drunk driving offense. For most criminal matters, there will be a period of probation imposed. The maximum period of probation that can be imposed for a misdemeanor is 2 years.  Probation may be non-reporting or require the individual to REPORT (to a probation officer. In certain situations, a skilled criminal defense lawyer can advocate for a short term of probation (3-6 months) or for NO PROBATION.

Probation Violations: The 41B District Court lists various situations that can result in a probation violation:

If you violate your probation for any reason, probation can be terminated, any deal or deferral can be taken away and jail can be imposed. The list below contains common reasons for a probation violation warrant.

  • Alcohol and drug testing violations (failing tests, missed tests).
  • Failure to appear for probation appointments.
  • Getting charged with a new criminal matter.
  • Failure to obtain permission to leave the State of Michigan.
  • Failure to provide current address to the probation department.
  • Failure to attend counseling or program as ordered by the Judge.
  • Failure to pay fines & costs by the due date.
  • Failure to pay restitution.

Probation Modification Hearings: In Michigan, probation can be imposed for up to two (2) years for a misdemeanor offense. While on probation, a person’s right to travel or consume alcoholic beverages can be restricted. Other rights can also be limited or denied while on probation. Probation is an alternative to jail but it also a restraint on personal freedoms and rights. If you are on probation and have been compliant, the 41B District Court Judges may consider modifying or terminating your probation. You will need to talk to an attorney about filing a motion to modify or terminate probation. There are three major reasons that clients ask us to file a motion to modify probation:

  1. Motion to terminate probation early.
  2. Motion to amend probation from reporting to non-reporting.
  3. Motion to amend probation regarding termination/reduction of alcohol/drug testing.

Isolated Incident, First Offender, Not Likely to Get Into Trouble Again: An attorney can advocate for lesser probation, non-reporting probation or a shorter period of probation for eligible offenders.

Traffic Violations in the 41B District Court: Reduced to Avoid Points and Record of any Conviction!

Like other district courts in Macomb County, I would say that traffic tickets are on the top of the list of types of cases that are litigated at the 41B District Court. Gratiot Avenue, Metro Parkway, a stretch of I-94 and Hall Road all contribute to the traffic volume in the 41B District Court.  When resolving a traffic matter in the 41B District Court, we are often able to negotiate a reduction or avoid points. A substantial reduction in a traffic ticket occurs when it is reduced to an offense such as impeding traffic or double parking. A traffic ticket that is reduced to impeding traffic or double parking does not carry any points and will never appear on a person’s driving record! We are also able to get favorable results for individuals charged with misdemeanor traffic offenses such as driving while suspended, reckless driving and leaving the scene of an accident

Continue reading ›

41A-SHELBY-DIVISION

41A District Courts: Locations in Shelby Township & Sterling Heights

Macomb County’s 41A District Courts

There are 2 divisions of the 41A District Court in Macomb County which are geographically located directly next to each other but which cover distinctly different geographical regions of Macomb County and each operates under its own set of rules and policies. The fact that they have the same name and that they both come up on searches for the 41A District Court does cause some confusion. Hopefully, this article will settle it once and for all that there are TWO courts called the 41A District Court and what you can expect if you have legal business in these separate and distinct jurisdictions. 41A District Court locations and contact info:

41-A1 District Court, Sterling Heights Division

41-A2 District Court, Shelby Division

Geographical Coverage Map of Macomb County District Courts

The jurisdictional boundaries of the 41A District Courts are expansive. The Sterling Heights division has jurisdiction over the entire city of Sterling Heights from 14 Mile Road to Hall Road. Sterling Heights has its own police department. The Shelby Township division covers a much larger geographical area which includes all of Shelby Township, Macomb Township and the City of Utica. The Shelby division is policed by the Shelby Township Police and the City of Utica Police. Macomb Township employs the Macomb County Sheriff Department for police services as it does not have its own police force. The image below provides a map of the geographical areas covered by each Macomb County District Court:

macomb_county_district_courts_map

Types of Cases Handled in the 41A District Courts

Michigan’s district courts have jurisdiction to handle traffic, criminal and civil proceedings. There are certain limitations to the power the district court has over civil and criminal proceedings.

  • Misdemeanor criminal jurisdiction: The district courts have complete jurisdiction of misdemeanors from arrest warrant, arraignment through trial and sentencing.
  • Felony criminal jurisdiction: The district courts have limited jurisdiction over felony matters which includes arrest warrant, arraignment, probable cause conference and preliminary examination. Felony cases that are not resolved in the district court are moved to the circuit court following a probable cause conference or preliminary examination.
  • Traffic jurisdiction: The  district courts have complete jurisdiction to dispose of traffic matters to their conclusion or final decision.
  • Civil proceedings: The district courts have jurisdiction over civil matters not to exceed $25,000.00. Civil proceedings is excess of $25,000.00 are filed and heard in the circuit courts.

Misdemeanors, felonies and traffic matters are initiated in the district court. Criminal cases are initiated in the court system with an arrest warrant or appearance ticket. For all felonies and most misdemeanors, an arraignment is held in the district court to advise an individual of the charges and to set bond and bond conditions.

Some of the more common criminal matters that are handled in the 41A District Courts include:

What can be expected if I am charged with a crime in the 41A District Courts?

Those with business in the 41A District Courts can expect to be treated fairly by elected judges are compassionate and that will bend over backwards to give an individual a break. The 41A District Courts in both Sterling Heights and Shelby Township utilize all of the statutory first offender programs to facilitate dismissals, including all of the following programs:

Felony cases: If you get charged with a felony, it starts out in the district court. If you get your felony reduced to a misdemeanor, you AVOID A FELONY RECORD and it remains in the district court. Talk to a local experienced criminal defense lawyer to find out how this is even possible.

Drunk driving: If you  are charged with driving under the influence (OWI, OWI with high BAC, etc.) in the 41A District Courts, you are not looking at jail or losing your license for a first offense. Getting a local attorney to fight for the best outcome is your best bet if you are facing a charge for driving under the influence of drugs or alcohol. There are many discretionary components of a drunk driving sentence  including: community service, immobilization of vehicle, random testing for alcohol and drugs, reporting or non-reporting probation. Some of these conditions can be avoided by strategic legal planning beforehand.

Traffic tickets: The court clerks are not authorized to give legal advice. They will not tell you that you can fight a traffic ticket arising in Sterling Heights, Shelby Township, Macomb Township or Utica and get it amended to an offense that carries NO POINTS and will NOT BE ABSTRACTED on your driving record. As we say, it is a wise investment to fight every traffic ticket.

Expungements of old crimes and drunk driving: The 41A District Courts have embraced Michigan’s Clean Slate law and are eager to grant expungements to those that are eligible. In addition, for the first time ever, effective February 19, 2022, an individual may file for expungement of a conviction for OWI, Impaired Driving or Super Drunk Driving. When you get a case expunged, you can say: I have never been convicted of a crime!

Probation Departments of the 41A Districts in Sterling Heights & Shelby 

The district courts in Michigan (including the 41-A Districts) have jurisdiction to handle all aspects of a misdemeanor offense (arraignment, trial, sentence). A misdemeanor is defined as an offense which can carry up to 1 year in jail. If the offense carries a penalty greater than 1 year, it is classified as a felony. Probation may be imposed for a maximum period of 2 years for a misdemeanor. When probation is required, it may be ordered to be REPORTING or NON-REPORTING. Non-reporting is always preferred. However, an individual is placed on reporting probation will be required to check in/report with a probation officer at predetermined intervals (monthly, bi-weekly). A motion can be filed to modify probation as explained below.

Probation violations and motions to modify probation

As the Michigan statute says ( MCL 771.4): All probation orders are revocable but revocation of probation, and subsequent incarceration, should be imposed only for repeated technical violations, for new criminal behavior, or upon request of the probationer. Hearings on the revocation must be summary and informal and not subject to the rules of evidence or of pleadings applicable in criminal trials.

Probation violations can result in jail time and the assistance of a criminal defense lawyer is essential. Upon being found guilty of violating probation, the Judge can sentence a person to the maximum remaining jail time which has not been served. Failure to comply with any of the conditions of probation will lead to a probation violation hearing and possible termination of probation and jail. Here are a few scenarios that can result in a probation violation:

  • Getting charged with another crime
  • Failing to report as directed
  • Leaving the State of Michigan without permission
  • Missing or failing a drug or alcohol test
  • Failure to pay fines/costs
  • Failure to attend counseling

If you have been compliant with probation (no violations, completed all programs, paid all fines), you may be eligible to file a motion to terminate or modify probation. In filing a motion to terminate or modify probation, you will want to give your attorney proof that you completed any programs, community service and paid all fines and costs. If you intend to file a motion to modify or terminate probation, our firm recommends that you wait until you have served 50% of your probation term. To get the case before the Judge at the half way point, we would recommend that you get started a few weeks beforehand with your lawyer. Continue reading ›

sheriff-macomb-county-c46c28c5-5603-4973-a912-9d5a38e2cc71

Leaving the scene of an accident is a crime in Michigan

The dos and don’ts if you are faced with hit and run for leaving the scene of an accident! 

A traffic crash is a traumatic event. We know from our experience as Macomb County criminal defense lawyers that an individual may leave the scene of an accident for various reasons including when someone is driving under the influence. Leaving the scene of an accident is a possible response under certain circumstances when stopping appears to be dangerous or risky. However, many hit and run incidents are related to illegal driving scenarios such as when an individual is driving under the influence (DUI), driving while license suspended (DWLS), driving without insurance or has a warrant for his or her arrest. 

Hit and Run is a Criminal Offense

In Michigan, traffic offenses can be charged as civil infractions or as crimes. The offense of leaving the scene of an accident (aka: hit and run, failing to give identification at the scene of a crash) is charged as a crime in Michigan. Along with drunk driving, leaving the scene of an accident is also one of the most prevalent misdemeanor cases that is charged in the Macomb County District Courts. Leaving the scene of an accident is a serious crime that can carry jail, up to 2 years of probation, a fine, court costs and 6 points. Leaving the scene of an accident causing an injury is a more serious crime than one causing property damage. If you get convicted of leaving the scene of an accident a criminal record will be created, 6 points will go on your driving record, you can be placed on probation and get up to 1 year in jail.

Let us explain what you should do if you have left the scene of an accident or if you are charged with leaving the scene of an accident. You should know that talking to the police without getting sound legal advice or pleading guilty without a lawyer are not your best options. You need to also know that employees in the court system are not permitted to give you legal advice. In this publication, and others, we explain why you should be proactive and that hiring a lawyer to fight every traffic ticket is a wise investment.

This publication is based upon our experience handling criminal cases, leaving the scene of an accident and traffic violations in the following Metro Detroit jurisdictions:

Michigan Driver’s Duties Following an Accident

Pursuant to MCL 257.619, The driver of a vehicle who knows or who has reason to believe that he or she has been involved in an accident with an individual or with another vehicle that is operated or attended by another individual shall do all of the following:

  1. Give his or her name and address, and the registration number of the vehicle he or she is operating, including the name and address of the owner, to a police officer, the individual struck, or the driver or occupants of the vehicle with which he or she has collided.
  2. Exhibit his or her operator’s or chauffeur’s license to a police officer, individual struck, or the driver or occupants of the vehicle with which he or she has collided.
  3. Render to any individual injured in the accident reasonable assistance in securing medical aid or arrange for or provide transportation to any injured individual.

Failing to comply with these duties or failing to stop and give identification at the scene of a crash or leaving the scene of an accident can result in a criminal record, criminal penalties along with administrative sanctions by the Michigan Secretary of State.

Are you facing any of these scenarios?

Do not hesitate to hire a local attorney if you are facing any of these scenarios:

  • You have received a ticket for leaving the scene of an accident.
  • You have left the scene of an accident and sooner or later will be apprehended.
  • You have left your vehicle after an accident and do not know what to do.

An attorney will protect you from making the wrong moves with the police and your insurance company. Don’t be tempted to say that your car was stolen or make up some bogus story that will get you charged with a felony. Once you talk to the police, the police will get names of any witnesses and check out your story . Do you really want to implicate your friends and ask them to lie for you? The police will not tell you that you have a right to remain silent and a right to an attorney unless you have been placed in custody.

You just might not be guilty of anything if you were not aware that an accident occurred or remaining at the scene would have been harmful or obstructed traffic more than necessary.

Leaving the scene to avoid getting nailed for a DUI 

It happens more often than you think. After consuming alcohol,  a person chooses to operate a vehicle and has an unfortunate accident while behind the wheel. The accident may involve a parked car, another occupied vehicle or be a single vehicle accident. The person knows that he or she is intoxicated and doesn’t want to get hit with a DUI. The person makes a decision to leave the scene of the accident believing that it is far better than sticking around and getting charged with drunk driving. Leaving the scene sometimes works out for the offender and sometimes it doesn’t. The driver that leaves the scene, by abandoning his or her car or driving off, will wind up afraid and anxious trying to figure out what will happen next.

Let us help you get your case under control if you have left the scene of an accident. DO NOT call the police and your insurance company and say that your car has been stolen. You will merely be exposing yourself to a felony charge for insurance fraud and filing a false felony report. Once you contact the police, you will asked for additional information that can be incriminating. Only an attorney can give you an accurate plan everything under control.

What to do if you are charged or have left the scene

If you have received a citation for leaving the scene of an accident, contact a lawyer for representation in the court system. If you are freaking out after leaving the scene of an accident and haven’t been caught yet, contact a lawyer to help you sort it out and establish a solid plan to address all of the following urgent matters:

  • Whether or not you should talk to the police.
  • Whether an insurance claim should be filed.
  • Getting your car out of the impound.
  • Dealing with the court system (arraignment, bond, pretrial conference, trial).

You have a right to a lawyer and a right to remain silent!

Let us explain the dos and don’ts if you are faced with any of the above hit and run scenarios:

  • DO retain an attorney to speak on your behalf.
  • DO get yourself cleaned up, sober and in  a better place if you intend to handle the matter with the police without a lawyer.
  • DON’T go home if you expect the police know your identity and your residential address.
  • DON’T make any statements to the police until you have consulted with a lawyer.
  • DON’T send any incriminating text messages to anyone.
  • DON’T say anything to your insurance agent until you have consulted with a lawyer.

There are ways for us to truthfully report the matter to the police without ever mentioning that our client was intoxicated the day before. Insurance fraud and filing a false police report are felonies. We will give you a solid plan to deal with the police, the insurance company and the court system without ever getting charged with a drunk driving or lying to the police! We consider it an emergency if you have left the scene of an accident, have not been home for several hours and do not have a clue what you should do next. 

Penalties for leaving the scene of an accident 

Jail-time, losing your license, insurance issues and getting stuck in the court system for up to 2 years while on probation are all possible penalties for leaving the scene of an accident.

It is a crime to leave the scene of an accident pursuant to MCL 257.617a, which provides as follows:

  • 1. Leaving scene causing property damage: The driver of a vehicle who knows or who has reason to believe that he has been involved in an accident upon public or private property that is open to travel by the public shall immediately stop his or her vehicle at the scene of the accident and shall remain there until the requirements of section 619 are fulfilled or immediately report the accident to the nearest or most convenient police agency or officer to fulfill the requirements of section 619(a) and (b) if there is a reasonable and honest belief that remaining at the scene will result in further harm. The stop shall be made without obstructing traffic more than is necessary.
  • 2. Leaving scene causing an injury: If an individual violates subsection (1) and the accident results in injury to any individual, the individual is guilty of a misdemeanor punishable by imprisonment for not more than 1 year or a fine of not more than $1,000.00, or both.

Leaving the scene of an injury accident

Leaving the scene of an accident may involve property damage, an injury to another person, or both. There are many factors that can make leaving the scene of an accident more serious. Leaving the scene of an accident involving only property damage with no injuries is a threshold case under the statute. If an injury is involved, the penalties are increased. If an injury occurs and alcohol or drugs are a factor, the offense is likely to be charged a felony, OWI causing an injury, which can carry up to five (5) years in prison. It is the job of an attorney to find ways to minimize the consequences of a more serious charge.

Restitution: Compensation to the victim(s)

Michigan’s restitution statute, MCL 769.1a, gives the court wide discretion to order reimbursement to any victim which arises out of the defendant’s criminal course of conduct.  The statute states as follows: when sentencing a defendant, the court shall order that the defendant make full restitution to any victim of the defendant’s course of conduct that gives rise to the conviction or to the victim’s estate. Restitution can include compensation for property damage and injuries such as: collision costs or fair market value of property, medical expenses, cost of psychological treatment to the victim or member of victim’s family and child care!

Restitution can be ordered to be paid during a term of probation. Whenever it is attainable and it will help in negotiations or sentencing, we may encourage our client to pay restitution up front.

Driving off after accident, leaving disabled vehicle at the scene

When the police find a disabled or abandoned vehicle that was in an accident, they are automatically suspicious that the driver was drunk, left the scene to avoid being tested for alcohol and waited to claim the vehicle until after his or her alcohol levels dropped below the legal limit for OWI/DUI. The police will typically put a hold on the vehicle until it is claimed and a statement is made by the owner/driver. This is where an attorney comes in and can talk to the police for you, schedule an interview and arrange to get your car released. If damage is extensive, the vehicle may remain impounded until the insurance company adjusts the damage. DO NOT REPORT THE VEHICLE AS STOLEN! Contacting the police before retaining a lawyer in this scenario is a big mistake. It is far better to let your lawyer do damage control and do all of the talking rather than get caught lying to the police which can lead to other serious felony charges.

 

Continue reading ›

Contact Information